ANIMAL POUND #1 Second Printing


Animal Farm for the 21st Century

BOOM! Studios today announced that ANIMAL POUND #1 has sold out at the distributor level! From the minds of the multi-Eisner-winning, New York Times bestselling writer Tom King (The Human Target, Mister Miracle), Eisner-nominated industry titan Peter Gross (Lucifer, American Jesus), Eisner-nominated colorist Tamra Bonvillain (Once & Future, World’s Finest), and Eisner-nominated letterer Clayton Cowles (Strange Adventures, Die), discover the modern retelling of the timeless Orwellian allegory in ANIMAL POUND.

When animals grow tired of being caged, killed, and sold off–it’s only a matter of time before they’ve had enough…

After an uprising puts the animals in control of a pound, they quickly find themselves as comrades–united against everything that walks on two legs. But with this newfound power comes a sudden challenge: how best to lay the groundwork for this new democracy.

Visionaries King and Gross give us an updated version of Animal Farm for 21st century America, where a two-party system gives way to fear and fascism in this can’t-miss event series.

In response to the overwhelming support from retailers and fans, BOOM! Studios has announced ANIMAL POUND #1 SECOND PRINTING (NOV237588), featuring brand new cover art by Peter Gross, available in stores January 31, 2024. 

“Fans everywhere are enthralled with the familiar story they thought they knew,” said Filip Sablik, President, Publishing & Sales, BOOM! Studios. “Tom, Peter, Tamra, and Clayton are bringing a compelling, important piece of graphic fiction to life with a powerful emotional core that honors Orwell’s masterpiece in ANIMAL POUND, and we want to ensure every reader who is interested in discovering it for themselves can do so!”

ANIMAL POUND is the newest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to critically acclaimed original series, including BRZRKR by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney; Something is Killing the Children by James Tynion IV and Werther Dell’Edera; Grim by Stephanie Phillips and Flaviano; Stuff of Nightmares by R.L. Stine and A.L. Kaplan; Damn Them All by Simon Spurrier and Charlie Adlard; Once Upon a Time at the End of the World by Jason Aaron, Alexandre Tefenkgi, Leila del Duca, and Nick Dragotta; Know Your Station by Sarah Gailey and Liana Kangas; A Vicious Circle by Mattson Tomlin and Lee Bermejo; The Neighbors by Jude Ellison S. Doyle and Letizia Cadonici; Ghostlore by Cullen Bunn and Leomacs; Sirens of the City by Joanne Starer and Khary Randolph; Coda by Simon Spurrier and Matías Bergara; Rare Flavours by Ram V and Filipe Andrade, and the upcoming Underheist by David and Maria Lapham. The imprint also publishes popular licensed properties, including Dune: House Harkonnen from Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson, and Michael Shelfer; Mighty Morphin Power Rangers by Melissa Flores and Simona Di Gianfelice; and The Expanse: Dragon Tooth by Andy Diggle and Rubine.

ANIMAL POUND #1 FIRST PRINTING may be available now in comic shops. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including comiXology, iBooks, Google Play, and Kindle.