Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, Ron Garney Return to BRZRKR

BRZRKR’s Original Creative Team Reunites at BOOM! Studios

Series creator Keanu Reeves, New York Times bestselling author Matt Kindt, legendary artist Ron Garney, and the iconic Bill Crabtree–the original team behind the record shattering BRZRKR–reunite for the first time since the series’ conclusion for the next chapter in the second volume of BRZRKR: Bloodlines with BRZRKR: THE LOST BOOK OF B.

This epic new chapter in the bloody saga brings the immortal warrior to the 13th Century!

B. serves as the ultimate weapon of the notorious warlord Ghengis Khan, and it seems that no enemy of his empire can withstand the Berserker’s onslaught of havoc and death. But as the war grows ever larger, B. must question where his loyalties should truly lie…

BRZRKR was such a large scale project that I think we all needed to recover afterward…but I think we all had a feeling we’d be back,” said BRZRKR co-writer Matt Kindt. “This one is bigger and crazier than anything we’ve done before. Whatever you’re expecting, flip it upside down and multiply it by a thousand.” 

“It’s been very exciting to return to this sojourn of B. with the guys and delve back into the immersive world of BRZRKR–particularly in a story that involves the world’s greatest conqueror, Ghenghis Khan,” said series artist Ron Garney. “I’m a huge fan of period pieces visually and, better yet, getting to tell this story–which feels as though it truly was almost lost to history only to be recovered as if it were found written in scrolls in an ancient tomb. Or like reading Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey. This story is so rich in texture, nature, and lore. I’m having a blast and can imagine any new readers and long time fans will too.”

BRZRKR: THE LOST BOOK OF B #1 features main cover art by Ron Garney with colors by Matt Kindt, also available as a foil variant cover, alongside additional variant covers by Mattia de lulis (Jessica Jones), David Nakayama (All-New Ultimates), and Bill Sienkiewicz (Moon Knight).

“The entire original BRZRKR creative team returning for The Lost Book of B is cause for major celebration,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief, Matt Gagnon. “Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney have been in the lab pouring so much passion & craft into the creation of this special stand-alone story. And they’ve called down lightning once again. The Lost Book of B is a sweeping, visceral epic from a creative team that is firing on all cylinders.”

“These BRZRKR one-shots have been a fantastic opportunity for other incredible storytellers to explore B.’s 80,000 year blood-soaked existence,” said BRZRKR editor Ramiro Portnoy. “After opening that door into the character’s past, we couldn’t be more thrilled to welcome the original creative forces of Keanu, Matt, Ron, and Bill back to tell B.’s most fierce and intense chapter yet!”

As part of Erica Slaughter Month, the book will also feature a variant cover by fan-favorite artist Dan Panosian (Alice Never After) celebrating the iconic monster hunter from SOMETHING IS KILLING THE CHILDREN.

BRZRKR: THE LOST BOOK OF B #1 will be available in comic shops on August 21, 2024. It is available for pre-order at your local comic shop. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including Kindle, iBooks, and Google Play.

BRZRKR: THE LOST BOOK OF B follows the announcement of the first ever BRZRKR prose novel, The Book of Elsewhere, to be published by Del Rey and co-authored by award-winning author China Miéville and Keanu Reeves and the release of the first BRZRKR: Bloodlines collected edition featuring the work of Steve Skroce, Mattson Tomlin, and Rebekah Isaacs, as well the release of BRZRKR: Poetry Of Madness Pen & Ink #1. 

More exciting information about the BRZRKR franchise will be revealed throughout the year!

About Keanu Reeves:

Keanu Reeves, the iconic star of feature films such as “John Wick” and “The Matrix,” is the creator and co-writer of BRZRKR. Reeves is a celebrated actor whose 35-year film career has garnered enormous success at the box office and received widespread acclaim. BRZRKR, his first comic book and graphic novel series, is the highest funded comic book Kickstarter of all-time and the highest selling original comic book series debut in over 25 years.  

About Matt Kindt:

Matt Kindt is a Harvey Award-winning and NYT Best-Selling writer and artist of comics and graphic novels. His work includes MIND MGMT, BRZRKR (with Keanu Reeves), Spy Superb, Bang!, Revolver, 3 Story, Super Spy, 2 Sisters, and Pistolwhip. He has been nominated for four Eisner Awards and three Harvey Awards (and won once). His work has been published in over ten languages. He lives in St. Louis, MO, with his wife and Dept H. collaborator, the colorist and artist Sharlene Kindt.

About Ron Garney:

Over the course of his established thirty year career he has built a large fan following, illustrating some of the industry’s greatest characters such as the The Amazing Spider-Man, Incredible Hulk, Silver Surfer, X-Men, Justice League of America, Captain America, Ghost Rider, Moon KnightG.I. Joe, and Skaar: Son of the Hulk, Wolverine, and Ultimate Captain America, Uncanny X-Force, Thor: God of Thunder, and his creator owned Men of Wrath series with Jason Aaron. He has been listed in magazines as a ‘top ten’ artist, and has been nominated twice for the industry’s coveted Eisner award, for best artist and best serialized story. 

Ron has also worked in the film industry, notably ‘I Am Legend’’ starring Will Smith as a costume illustrator and illustrating for Marvel’s Netflix series ‘Daredevil’. 

He is also a songwriter and musician, a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu black belt and instructor, and resides in Connecticut with his wife and four children.

BRZRKR: THE LOST BOOK OF B is the newest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to critically acclaimed original series, including BRZRKR by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney; Something is Killing the Children by James Tynion IV and Werther Dell’Edera; Grim by Stephanie Phillips and Flaviano; Stuff of Nightmares by R.L. Stine and A.L. Kaplan; Damn Them All by Simon Spurrier and Charlie Adlard; Once Upon a Time at the End of the World by Jason Aaron, Alexandre Tefenkgi, Leila del Duca, and Nick Dragotta; Know Your Station by Sarah Gailey and Liana Kangas; A Vicious Circle by Mattson Tomlin and Lee Bermejo; The Neighbors by Jude Ellison S. Doyle and Letizia Cadonici; Ghostlore by Cullen Bunn and Leomacs; Sirens of the City by Joanne Starer and Khary Randolph; Coda by Simon Spurrier and Matías Bergara; Rare Flavours by Ram V and Filipe Andrade; Underheist by David and Maria Lapham; and Animal Pound by Tom King and Peter Gross. The imprint also publishes popular licensed properties, including Dune: House Harkonnen from Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson, and Michael Shelfer; Mighty Morphin Power Rangers by Melissa Flores and Simona Di Gianfelice; and The Expanse: Dragon Tooth by Andy Diggle and Rubine.