Sorin & Liliana in a Team Up that Cannot Be Missed in Your First Look at MAGIC PLANESWALKERS: NOTORIOUS #1

Famed “The Empty Man” Writer and Long Time “Magic” Writer Team Up for More Magic August 2023

BOOM! Studios today revealed a first look at MAGIC PLANESWALKERS: NOTORIOUS #1. The prolific and award-winning author, and Magic: The Gathering superfan, Cullen Bunn (Ghostlore, Harrow County) brings his love for Magic to the page alongside a story by acclaimed writer Rich Douek (Magic, Sea of Sorrows), with artists French Carlomagno (Firefly: Brand New ‘Verse, The Dead Lucky) and Carlos Pedro (Elephantmen), colorists Mattia Iacono, Arianna Consonni (Arancia Studio), and letterer Ed Dukeshire, in the 40-page one-shot, hitting shelves August 2023!

Two of the most popular Planeswalkers in Magic: The Gathering history—fan favorite vampire Sorin Markov and the incomparable necromancer Liliana Vess—come together for a team-up that’s not to be missed! On a strange, unnamed plane, the two must work together to prevent a diabolical figure from unleashing hell across the Multiverse.

Meanwhile, two of the most mysterious of the Planeswalkers, Oko and Calix, cross paths elsewhere on another plane…

MAGIC PLANESWALKERS: NOTORIOUS #1 features a main connecting cover by Jahnoy Lindsay (Hawkeye: Kate Bishop) and variant connecting cover by Frany (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) that connect to MAGIC PLANESWALKERS: NOBLE #1, and additional variant cover art by Justine Florentino (Grim).

MAGIC PLANESWALKERS: NOTORIOUS #1 is the newest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to critically acclaimed original series, including BRZRKR by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney; Something is Killing the Children by James Tynion IV and Werther Dell’Edera; Once & Future by Kieron Gillen and Dan Mora; Wynd by James Tynion IV and Michael Dialynas; Grim by Stephanie Phillips and Flaviano; Briar by Christopher Cantwell and Germán García; Stuff of Nightmares by R.L. Stine and A.L. Kaplan; The Approach by Jeremy Haun, Jason A. Hurley, and Jesus Hervas; Damn Them All by Simon Spurrier and Charlie Adlard; Behold, Behemoth by Tate Brombal and Nick Robles; Once Upon a Time at the End of the World by Jason Aaron, Alexandre Tefenkgi, Leila del Duca, and Nick Dragotta; Know Your Station by Sarah Gailey and Liana Kangas; A Vicious Circle by Mattson Tomlin and Lee Bermejo; Mosely by Rob Guillory and Sam Lotfi; Harrower by Justin Jordan and Brahm Revel; The Neighbors by Jude Ellison S. Doyle and Letizia Cadonici; The Seasons Have Teeth by Dan Watters and Sebastián Cabrol; Ghostlore by Cullen Bunn and Leomacs; and Sirens of the City by Joanne Starer and Khary Randolph. The imprint also publishes popular licensed properties, including Dune: House Harkonnen from Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson, and Michael Shelfer; Mighty Morphin Power Rangers from Melissa Flores and Simona Di Gianfelice; Magic from Jed McKay, Rich Douek, and Ig Guara; and The Expanse: Dragon Tooth by Andy Diggle and Rubine.

MAGIC PLANESWALKERS: NOTORIOUS #1 will be available in comic shops August 23, 2023. It is available for pre-order at your local comic shop. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including comiXology, iBooks, Google Play, and Kindle.