Dark Specter’s Infection Spreads Further in POWER RANGERS UNLIMITED: THE MORPHIN MASTERS #1

Ryan Parrott Returns for a Key THE DARKEST HOUR Tie-In

Ryan Parrott returns to Power Rangers, and is joined by co-writer Rachel Wagner (Rogue Sun), artist Daniel Bayliss (Firefly), colorist Arthur Hesli (Power Rangers Unlimited: The Coinless #1), and letterer Ed Dukeshire (Irredeemable) in the newest The Darkest Hour tie-in, POWER RANGERS UNLIMITED: THE MORPHIN MASTERS #1, coming from BOOM! Studios, under license by leading toy and game company Hasbro, this winter.

Picking up right after the shocking events of Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #116, an iconic returning character has entered The Grid in a desperate attempt to find the Morphin Masters and the answers they might possess.

POWER RANGERS UNLIMITED: THE MORPHIN MASTERS #1 features covers by Toni Infante (Sons of the Devil), Goñi Montes (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers), and Miguel Mercado (Magic).

“I mean the opportunity to come back to Power Rangers even just for a single issue was honestly too good to pass up, especially when it meant getting to write a Ranger Slayer story again,” said returning Power Rangers writer, Ryan Parrott. “Plus, what Melissa has done with the franchise has been nothing short of amazing, so it was truly an honor to finally get to tie together so many of the exciting lore threads regarding the Grid and the Morphin Masters that we all introduced… and I can’t believe I’m saying this, but… years ago.”

“I so greatly appreciate the chance to play in Ryan and Melissa’s sandbox! I deeply relate to Ranger Slayer’s story in this one and was beyond excited with the opportunity to delve deeper into the cost of fighting for others with no regard for yourself,” said writer Rachel Wagner. “As for the Grid, Masters and lore – I truly hope you all have as much fun reading it as Ryan and I did writing it!”

“I’m genuinely honored to have the opportunity to dive into the Power Rangers universe once again, and it’s very exciting to have the chance to give life to a great story by the exceptional writing team of Ryan and Rachel,” said artist Daniel Bayliss. “I’m having so much fun with the Ranger Slayer and all the characters in the story. I’m sure readers will enjoy this incredible and unique adventure just as much as I am working on it.”

THE MORPHIN MASTERS is really issue #116.5–fans of the series and those keeping up with The Darkest Hour will not want to miss this one. I want to tell you everything about it, but I’ll wait for you all to experience it yourselves!” said series editor Allyson Gronowitz.

POWER RANGERS UNLIMITED: THE MORPHIN MASTERS #1 will hit shelves January 31, 2024. It is available for pre-order at your local comic shop. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including comiXology, iBooks, Google Play, and Kindle. 

About Ryan Parrott:

Ryan Parrott is a New York Times best-selling author living in Los Angeles best known for his work on the Power Ranger franchise, Image’s Rogue Sun and Aftershock’s Dead Day. He’s previously written on NBC’s Revolution and Hulu’s Chance as well as for numerous titles at DC Comics, IDW, Image, Dynamite and BOOM! Studios.

About Rachel Wagner:

Rachel Wagner is a writer currently living in Los Angeles. She has worked on television shows such as ‘Preacher,’ ‘CSI:NY,’ ‘Physical,’ ‘Revolution,’ ‘Patient Zero,’ ‘Saints and Sinners,’ and ‘About a Boy.’ Additionally, she has written for BOOM! Studios and Image, developed projects for Robert Zemeckis, Marc Forster and Jerry Bruckheimer and has been nominated for Saturn and AOF Fest awards.

About Daniel Bayliss:

Daniel Bayliss is a comic book artist from Mexico. He has collaborated on titles such as DC Comics’ Knight Terrors: The Flash, BOOM! Studios’ Angel, and Big Trouble in Little China/Escape from New York, among many others. He has also worked with publishers like Marvel Comics, IDW, and Titan Comics. He was nominated for The Russ Manning Award 2016.

POWER RANGERS UNLIMITED: THE MORPHIN MASTERS is the newest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to critically acclaimed original series, including BRZRKR by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney; Something is Killing the Children by James Tynion IV and Werther Dell’Edera; Grim by Stephanie Phillips and Flaviano; Briar by Christopher Cantwell and Germán García; Stuff of Nightmares by R.L. Stine and A.L. Kaplan; Damn Them All by Simon Spurrier and Charlie Adlard; Once Upon a Time at the End of the World by Jason Aaron, Alexandre Tefenkgi, Leila del Duca, and Nick Dragotta; Know Your Station by Sarah Gailey and Liana Kangas; A Vicious Circle by Mattson Tomlin and Lee Bermejo; Harrower by Justin Jordan and Brahm Revel; The Neighbors by Jude Ellison S. Doyle and Letizia Cadonici; The Seasons Have Teeth by Dan Watters and Sebastián Cabrol; Ghostlore by Cullen Bunn and Leomacs; Sirens of the City by Joanne Starer and Khary Randolph; Coda by Simon Spurrier and Matías Bergara; Rare Flavours by Ram V and Filipe Andrade, and the upcoming Underheist by David and Maria Lapham. The imprint also publishes popular licensed properties, including Dune: House Harkonnen from Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson, and Michael Shelfer; Mighty Morphin Power Rangers from Melissa Flores and Simona Di Gianfelice; Magic from Jed McKay, Rich Douek, and Ig Guara; and The Expanse: Dragon Tooth by Andy Diggle and Rubine.