A New Slayer Rises in THE VAMPIRE SLAYER #1

Discover a Brand New Era for the Chosen One in April 2022

BOOM! Studios today revealed a first look at THE VAMPIRE SLAYER #1, the premier issue of the new comic book series from the universe of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. From the creative team of award-winning author Sarah Gailey (Eat The Rich, Magic for Liars) artist Michael Shelfer (Domino), colorist Valentina Pinto and Riccardo Giardina, and letterer Ed Dukeshire, comes a new era for the Chosen One as she faces an impossible choice and a danger so powerful it threatens the lives of everyone and everything she holds dear in April 2022.

After the events of the past few years, fighting against the forces of evil nonstop, Buffy Summers finds herself succumbing to the burden of bearing the Slayer mantle. To help his Slayer, Rupert Giles risks turning to chaos magic, and with Willow’s help, they attempt a spell to remove the trauma from Buffy’s psyche. But the effects backfire and leave Buffy unable to remember her past or her purpose! With Sunnydale under attack, a surprising new Slayer must rise to protect the world, while Buffy’s friends race against the clock to restore her true self before it’s too late…

Buffy the Vampire Slayer premiered on March 10th, 1997. The Emmy and Golden Globe-nominated series ran for seven seasons from 1997-2003. Chosen to battle vampires, demons and other forces of darkness, Buffy is aided by a Watcher who guides and teaches her as she surrounds herself with a circle of friends called the Scooby Gang. 

THE VAMPIRE SLAYER #1 features main cover art by acclaimed illustrator Goñi Montes (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) and variant cover art by fan favorite artists Francesco Francavilla (Night of the Ghoul), Bex Glendining (Nubia: Real One), Christian Ward (The Many Deaths of Laila Starr), and Mike del Mundo (X-men, Thor). 

THE VAMPIRE SLAYER  is the newest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to critically acclaimed original series, including BRZRKR by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney; Proctor Valley Road by Grant Morrison, Alex Child, and Naomi Franquiz; We Only Find Them When They’re Dead by Al Ewing and Simone Di Meo; Seven Secrets by Tom Taylor and Daniele Di Nicuolo; Something is Killing the Children by James Tynion IV and Werther Dell’Edera; Once & Future by Kieron Gillen and Dan Mora; The Many Deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V and Filipe Andrade; and Eve by Victor LaValle and Jo Mi-Gyeong. The imprint also publishes popular licensed properties, including Dune: House Atreides from Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson, and Dev Pramanik; Mighty Morphin and Power Rangers from Ryan Parrott, Marco Renna, and Francesco Mortarino; and Magic from Jed McKay and Ig Guara.

Print copies of  THE VAMPIRE SLAYER #1 will be available for sale on April 20, 2022 exclusively at local comic book shops (use to find the nearest one) or at the BOOM! Studios webstore. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including comiXology, iBooks, Google Play, and Kindle.